Leonardo da Vinci – Self portrait series

The annunciation by the Archangel Gabriel to the Virgin Mary , A study of illusion and reality, parody, humour and humanity

Here was an architect and a man with a vast span of knowledge accumulated through his inquisitiveness and union with nature and God. The self study brought a sense of a precise composition relating to a biblical tale which I felt the weight by both bearers. The intricacy of the painting had been devised through calculations, measurements and perspective.

In this composition, I felt layered with oils, linseed and pitch. In it I felt stiff, static as if I were two props that added fifty pounds to my weight. This had me motionless and fixed to the ground where I could not move. Dead in its emotion. Yet, there was a message to be said from God’s unyielding hand, I come to you to bring forth my son.

Leonardo da Vinci’s (Belief ) was either here or their, it floated somewhere in the middle. His heart held the key to the mysteries of life, and his patients and virtues led to an experience he was fully grateful for. The power was overwhelming, his triumphs will live for eternity.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

