The Madonna – Self portrait series


A study of illusion and reality, parody, humour and humanity.

So far in my study portraits, I have never been touched by a feeling that represented a mother’s love for her infant. In this work, I searched to verify its meaning, and its truth in the abstraction and of its nonexistence, but it did not matter, its omnipresence of what it meant was overpowering, impacting and so (real). What I can tell you that it led me to an (epiphany) about inherently wanting, subconsciously. This was what love really means.

In the portrait of the Madonna, I felt the presence of a (love), a bonding, and a child that was clingy, but mine altogether. But I knew that I was giving him up. His fragility, his inquisitiveness, his innocence. And I thought to myself, take good care of him, treat him well with respect and dignity, as he is my only. The (love) that I felt was the maternal bond.

It should be noted that this experience is not within a religious context.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

